Posted in book reviews

[Book Review] Dare me by Megan Abbott

Add to goodreads

Genre- mystery, young adult, thriller

I’ve read two books by Megan Abbott so far. The first one was ‘ You will know me’, and it was just so engrossing and quite different from the books I’ve read. And I just loved it. Obviously, I had to read another book by Megan. Even though I didn’t love this book as much as I loved ‘you will know me’, it was a decent read. Actually, it was a good book but I had higher expectations. 

Knowing the inside story of what happens inside a cheerleaders’ group was quite fascinating. Then there is their coach. A complex character, but there was nothing that simple in this book. To me, there was a different kind of fascination for this book. The characters would surprise you with their small actions. So, you would always be looking forward to what will happen next. 

The writing style of the author is very different. The sentences have a different structure to them. If you get the hang of the writing style, you’ll enjoy this book in the sense it is meant to be enjoyed. But you could have trouble getting the hang of it in the beginning; I was myself quite confused for nearly 50 pages. At that point I even thought of giving up trying to read it. But I continued, obviously.

As a result, I gave it 4 stars even if I struggled in the beginning. This is because once I got into the book, I totally enjoyed it thoroughly. The very different aura made me want to stay in the book. 

So, I would recommend this book if you are looking for a peculiar thriller. It is different, very different. But understanding it a bit makes all the difference of liking and not liking this book!!

My rating: 4/5 stars

One thought on “[Book Review] Dare me by Megan Abbott

Leave a Reply

