20-45-08-32571395

Genre- contemporary, thriller, young adult, mystery

My rating-4/5

Five students walk in detention and merely after 5 minutes one of them is dead. Pretty normal, huh?

This book is the story of 4 teenagers who somehow end up in detention for something they did not do and become suspects of the murder of a fifth kid. A kid whom not only one, but most of the school students had a reason or the other to kill. He spilled their secrets out.

Not talking more about the story anymore, I’ll talk about how and what I liked about this book. The characters were all very interesting. Somehow, the author made me care about all the four main characters. I was able to empathise with each and every one of them.

Then there was this thing which kept me glued to this book. It was the setting which was very intriguing to me, the way the story unfolds, the perspectives of each and every one of them shown separately and how they end up getting attached to each other at some level. I don’t know if its worth mentioning, but sibling relation shown here moved me to some extent.

Even though this book is not romance centred, it made me smile like an idiot at many instances which I totally loved. That kind of romance involved is exactly my kind of romance- nothing cheesy about it, and it felt so real and sexy.

I would’ve given this book 5 stars but I’m not sure I liked how the mystery ended. But I think this aspect of liking it or not is totally subjective.

All in all, I’m very happy that I read this book. I think it can be easily labelled as a modern masterpiece.

Happy reading!

4 thoughts on “[BOOK REVIEW] One of us is lying by Karen M. McManus

Leave a comment