Posted in book reviews

[Book Review] Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

768628._SY540_

Genre- Romance, young adult, contemporary

My rating: 3/5

“Live. If you mix the letters up in the words like and love, you get live. You can use that word.”

Never have I been so confused in the past about rating a book. With an outstanding hundred pages in the beginning, the book scoops way down afterwards with some very ordinary chapters.

Sky is a girl who has been kept away from technology from her adopted mother who loves her more than life. Regardless, she is living a pretty happy life until Holder enters her life and she learns some devastating truths about her past, truths which were in front of her but she always looked through them, refusing to claim them at all.

The story is not as simple as it looks though. But the author makes some valid points regarding people messed up emotionally.

Things I liked about this book:

As I said, this book is pretty entertaining in the beginning with witty jokes and a bittersweet relation between Sky and Holder. Believe me when I say it: every single line of those first hundred pages managed to make me smile like an idiot. That, combined with a message of what a rape can do to a person, made this story into a pretty decent read.

Things I did not like about this book:

After a certain point in this book, the chapters start to become long and bogus. Some romance moments were written over and over, and let me tell you, I actually skipped few of those paragraphs. It even made me want to just give up reading this book on more than one occasion.  Also, the story was far too stretched up in a way that there were way too many coincidences which did not make sense to me.

Regardless, you can try this book because I can safely say that the moments I enjoyed this book were certainly more than the ones when I did not!

5 thoughts on “[Book Review] Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

  1. It seems interesting .I will read it when I will finish my recent book “My Experiment With The Truth”.Thanks for sharing ,I enjoyed the review.How many stars you will give to this book?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I gave it 3 stars. As i mentioned in this review, this book was really sexy in majority of sections but a lil boring too. It won’t be boring for you if you love romance, though!

      Like

Leave a Reply

